Ms. Pechan's Blog

"Adventure is worthwhile." -Aesop

To Rain or Not to Rain… that is the question

The weather in Auckland has been unseasonably cold for this time of the year.  Speaking of which, since I am in the southern hemisphere down here, do you know which season it is?

Throughout the day we have been experiencing times of sunshine and times of rain.  The only constant has been the wind, so I’m glad that I packed a good jacket and a windbreaker.

IMG_5902

 

IMG_5908

 

Of course, the wonderful thing about the sunshine following the rain is that you often get to see a rainbow.

10649724_10152474183402654_5338559519402179584_n

11 Comments

  1. I hope you have a wonderful trip. Does it rain a lot at New Zealend? How long does it rain? I hope you have fun at New Zealend.

    • Ms. P

      November 13, 2014 at 8:32 am

      So far on this trip it has been raining off and on every day. It has been raining anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes at a time, and the sun will usually come out a bit before it rains again. I am not sure how much rainfall New Zealand gets in a year compared to the United States. If you wanted to do some research, you could look up some of the major cities here (Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Queenstown) and compare the average yearly rainfall to some U.S. cities (Los Angeles, New York, etc.). I wonder what you would find.

  2. basketballgirl23

    November 13, 2014 at 4:57 am

    Isn’t it amaizing how the weather can change from sunshine to rain? Its amazing to me. Good thing you packed a good jacket and a windbreaker if not you would have been cold and dripping wet with all that rain.
    Now I have a couple of questions.
    •Do u like it there in Auckland‚ New Zealand?
    •Did you rent a motel/hotel for you to spend the nights in while in New Zealand.
    •Are you going to buy any souvenirs? If so can you show Mrs. Gillums class and I what you bought when you return.
    •How long are you staying in New Zealand for?
    •How did you get there? How long did it take you to get there?

    • Ms. P

      November 13, 2014 at 8:36 am

      Hi! Yes, so far I have enjoyed being here in New Zealand. We are staying in different places along the way, but they are mostly hotels. I am not too big on souvenirs, but I might pick up a couple of things while I’m here. If I do, I will be sure to share them with your class. I will be here for a little over two weeks and will be staying on the island of Tahiti for a few days before coming back home.

  3. I’m glad that you had a fun day at New Zealand, and I hope you have another wonderful day.

  4. I did notice that there is a double rainbow. Did anyone else notice it?

  5. Hope it doesn’t get to cold for you,or to warm.

  6. Baseball Headshot

    November 17, 2014 at 3:02 pm

    Hi Ms.Pechan this is baseball headshot. The cool thing when it rains is that you get a rainbow. Well I hope you have a nice 3 week vacation in New Zealand Ms. Pechan.

    Sincerely, Baseball Headshot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

© 2024 Ms. Pechan's Blog

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

Skip to toolbar